Add to Your Wholeness

You know those romantic comedies that stage a damsel in distress struggling to make ends meet and then is rescued by the witty, rich and shiny knight in armor, essentially “completing” her (insert heart eye emoji) and saving her from heart break and lonely nights. Ladies, movies are not real life. Please believe me when I say you are not a half, you are in fact whole. Yes, everything you need is already in you through Christ Jesus. There is no man, no career path, no paycheck that can make you complete. That kind of power is supernatural. Colossians 2:8-10 warns against hollow and deceptive worldly philosophy and proclaims your fullness in Christ.

It is so easy to get wrapped up in the world’s view of how a relationship works, when you should have sex, who you should marry; I mean these ideas are in the movies we watch every day, the music we listen to every day, the conversations we have every day and the pictures we see on Instagram every day. It seems that adopting an inferior sense of self is what we as women are trained to do and even expect of ourselves. I know because I was that girl. I still struggle with that girl sometimes. I looked for love and acceptance in the wrong places. I submitted myself to people thinking that it would make the relationship stronger. I betrayed my own sense of value and glorified another’s believing they were the one God sent to complete me. Man was I ever wrong!

I am learning now that there is only one person who could ever give you the sense of wholeness you seek so badly from another human, his name is Jesus. I am learning that the people in your life should be adding to your wholeness, not completing your half because you are not a half. Colossians 2:10 says that in Christ you have been brought to fullness. The search is over! What a relief right?

Single mommas, my prayer for you today is that you learn your worth in Christ and know how much He loves you. Get familiar with the idea that you are enough because Jesus has made you to be enough. He didn’t create you to be a robot or a woman in distress waiting to be saved. He has already saved you and wants you to live a fulfilled life according to His plans for you. Do not be afraid of being alone a little longer if it means you are waiting on God’s perfect timing. There is no ticking timesheet that says you must settle. God wants you to realize your full potential and step into your wholeness with faith, knowing that He will add to it when and as He sees fit. There is no race. Colossians 2:17 declares that in Him all things hold together. You got this girl!

 

2 thoughts on “Add to Your Wholeness

  1. Nothing more beautiful then to see the soul anchored In Jesus! This spoke to my soul and to my heart! Such a presence of God’s peace and reminder he will use it all and what he says it will Be!

    Like

  2. Yasssss!!!! Amen and amen! Words that pierce the heart with truth and love! So refreshing and encouraging ! Thank you for sharing ! It spoke to my heart! ! Iove your heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

